Newbie needing help - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-15-2014, 11:48 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Newbie needing help

Hi, my name's Logan I'm new to planted tanks I have a 20 gallon long I'd love to plant. I have my turtles in there now and 2 years ago I sold my 150 gallon tall tank to my aunt but I'm buying it back so I'm going to move them in there. I have a few questions I need answered with a few tips probably needed along the way.

1. I've heard to start the cycle going faster more naturally you can use some old already used gravel under your new special gravel that has the additives to help is that true?

2. Would it be smarter to just buy a CO2 reactor to help plant growth instead of making a home one with yeast sugar and water?

3. A 20 long is 30 inches long would it be okay to have a 24 in to cover the entire tank if I build my own good with an attached light fixture with the special bulbs?

4. If #3 is fine should I use 2 or one of the long fluorescent bulbs?

I just want to say thank you to all of y'all that help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-16-2014, 12:13 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
1) Good sources of the beneficial bacteria:
Filter media from a cycled, healthy tank that is supporting plenty of fish.
Gravel from such a tank. Do not bury it in your substrate. You can scatter it over the top of your substrate, if you like the look. Otherwise keep the bacteria-rich gravel in several mesh bags and place them in an area with good water flow. You could hang them from the sides of the tank, or lay them on the bottom.
Other things from such a tank, but they have less bacteria, smaller jump-start.

Bottled bacteria, as long as it contains Nitrospira species of bacteria. Read the label, and do not waste your money on anything else.

The right bacteria will find the tank, even if you do not add anything to jump start the colony.