Upgrading lights and substrate - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-10-2014, 09:05 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Upgrading lights and substrate

Hi, im Joe and new to the forum. First off I have a few questions about doing a legit planted tank with regards to lighting and substrate or any other tips yall would like to offer. Here are a few things about me though so you know where I am at. I am 21 and in college. I have been keeping fish for about 2 years on and off. As of right now I have a 10 gallon planted that I keep in the dorm room. I also dont have alot of money.
So in August I decided I wanted to start a planted tank in my dorm room with my 10 gallon. (10 Gallons are the max size tanks allowed in the dorm) I didnt have alot of money so I bought a bag of sand for cheap and thought I would throw some plants in there and see what happens. It has been up and running for about 5 months now. There are some crypts, which seem to be doing really good, 2 amazon swords, which are booming, and some jungle val, which has grown up but has yet to produce runners. There is another plant in the back right which I know is common, but I forget its name right now. Anyways to start with I was just hoping the plants would live, but now I actually and trying to do something with it. Which leads me to feeling limited to what I can plant do to my lights and substrate. I have regular sand and 2 10W CFLs in a cheap hood. I want to start over and do it correctly this time.

Correct me or tell me what I could do better if yall see something in this post , but I was thinking I should spread a handful of peat on the bottom. Then go back and cover it with some Eco-complete along with some finer gravel to go on top of that. Then let it soak for a day or two, dry out, and then soak, then dryout, then fill it up to finish. How does this sound?