5.5 gallon light and Co2 requirements? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-08-2014, 09:09 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question 5.5 gallon light and Co2 requirements?

I am fairly new to the hobby, and am starting a 5.5 gallon planted tank. I recently purchased an Odyssea 14" 24watt power compact looking at a 6500K bulb. Along with my Aquatek mini Co2 regulator, will this be enough light to grow an HC carpet in Aquasoil Amazonia? Pardon the pun but I'm not up to par on PAR, and I know watts/gallon is outdated and out the window when it comes to smaller tanks. Is there a good baseline bps I should aim for with my Co2?

What are your suggestions when it comes to plants? I have rushed things in the past, and I feel that was my downfall. Not looking at any fauna as of yet, just looking to get the plants going healthy first
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-08-2014, 10:15 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (151/100%)
Hey AquaBotNewb, welcome to ThePlantedTank.

I'd say a 24watt compact 6500K bulb for a 5.5 gallon is really good enough to grow HC on Amazonia Aquasoil. If you want to be successful with HC in that tank, you have to make sure you monitor your co2 levels to be at a good range for plants, dose your fertilizers daily, adjust lighting time, have good water flow and your good to go. As for BPS, I think 1 BPS or 1 bubble per half second would do.

By the way, get yourself a co2 drop checker with good quality solution and use it to check your co2 levels. It'll make checking rising/dropping co2 levels easier than test kits, unless you have the money for them, they are definitely more accurate.