Aquaponics anyone? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-01-2014, 01:39 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Aquaponics anyone?

I have a small grow bed in my FW refugium that's doing pretty good. I'm new at it and would like to to upgrade and learn about new ideas
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-01-2014, 01:16 PM
Planted Tank Guru

Can you show us what you have?
Pictures?
Describe the daily cycle? Does the planted bed get flooded and drained?
What kind of lighting do you have for these plants?
Is the aquarium planted? (competition for the aquaponics bed)
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-01-2014, 01:58 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diana View Post
Can you show us what you have?
Pictures?
Describe the daily cycle? Does the planted bed get flooded and drained?
What kind of lighting do you have for these plants?
Is the aquarium planted? (competition for the aquaponics bed)
I flood it twice a week at water changes. It's above the water line so I don't have to do anything special to flood it. I have two florescent lights and they run about 12 hours per night. The DT is planted. The trickle filter makes it hard to grow plants because it makes it hard to maintain CO2 but they are now thriving. The plants (in the pic) are sweet potato and Lucky Bamboo. I was thinking about trying something else but not sure what.

Here's a pic. https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/pi...ictureid=70738

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-01-2014, 04:49 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
plants, aquatics + houseplants &

I'm raising lettuce, chard, tomatoes, herbs, etc... constant flow wicking beds... Bettas, Platies, molleys, killies, least killies, snails, shrimp, scuds...
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-01-2014, 04:58 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by seove View Post