Need advice on various aspects of new tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-25-2014, 01:22 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Need advice on various aspects of new tank

Hello,

I recently purchased a 48 gallon tank off craigslist with Fluval 206 filter and 36" life and power glo bulbs. After reading the forum and getting lots of conflicting advice from the LFS, I figured I would compile all my questions and options into one thread. Disclaimer: I am new to planted tanks and want to keep it low tech for now, which includes using things I can obtain locally and not special order.

Substrate - the tank came with 5 gallons of natural aquarium rocks. I plan to use a bag of eco-complete, mix with rinsed florite (20 lbs each) and mix all that in with 75% of my rocks for about 2.5" of coverage on the bottom.

Questions - Is this enough? Should I add any more nutrients or anything I don't know about before putting the mix down? Is this even a good idea?

Cycling - Once the sub mix is down I plan to cycle the tank about 2 weeks and add a water conditioner meant for live tanks. Need advice on what to use and if this is a reasonable thing to it. With all these black Friday deals on plants coming up I would love to take advantage but idk if my tank would be ready in time.

Basically, I want to know if my substrate plan sounds good and if so, how long I should cycle it before adding in plants. Also, what water conditioners are best.

Bonus question: the tank came with a snail infestation, and I am hoping to kill them off with the lettuce trick I read about since the aquarium wont be ready for loaches for a while. Any further advice on removing snails?

I know this is a lot! I look forward to hearing some solutions though and thank you in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-25-2014, 01:43 PM
Planted Member