Just a small venting thread. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-23-2014, 10:05 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Just a small venting thread.

I am relatively new to the hobby, but I spent months researching and cycling my tank before adding any fish. To my delight, seeing my tank inspired one of my friends to get their own tank, which they admitted to wanting for a long time. Despite my strong advice to do a fishless cycle, they proceeded to just add their fish to the tank without cycling.

Fastforward a bit, and I have dealt with and am still dealing with major disease and fish dying in my tank. Meanwhile I don't think my friend has lost any fish. Obviously I am thrilled that it turned out alright for them and their fish. But damn, if it doesn't go figure that I work so much harder than them on my tank and still come out with more problems.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-23-2014, 10:11 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

This is just like quarantine for new fishes. There is a recent thread on this here. Some have never done it without issues. Some have always did it. Some adopted quarantine routine after having gone through disaster.

Cycling is safe approach and there are several variables to consider. I did not cycle once and lost quite a few angels.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
|
|
|
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-23-2014, 10:13 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Some times the KISS method is the best
He might have diff water from you there are alot of variables but don't sweet it y'all get your tank on track it would of happened sooner or later now if it happens again you know how to deal with the issues it's all a learning curve keep your chin up and push forward