Your Opinions Please... My first Planted Tank (75G) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-17-2014, 11:40 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Talking Your Opinions Please... My first Planted Tank (75G)

So I'm about 3+ weeks into my first planted tank and am looking for further ideas before I call it complete.

I tried to layout a nice multi-level arrangement, and I'm not thrilled, nor disappointed... If I could do anything over, I would of used less height and space in my big plateau. (left) (Just so I could have more space for more fish)

I'm sorry I can't tell you all the plants I got, but some are R Macandra, Ludwiga Ovalis, Bacopa, some cheap tall background plant, maybe sprites? Some nice little leafy plant, and one mini-sword/crypt looking thing maybe? haha, sorry I'm a newb!

So far fish stock:
4 Julii Corys
2 Sterbai... (supposed to be 2 more Julii's but the fish store screwed up and I didn't look over shoulder when bagged) :-/
3 denison barbs (I hear I should get 3+ more... but I'd rather not for space)
8 Harlequin Rasboras
1 Pearl Danio that is an immortal.
2 Boesemani Rainbows
2 Turquoise Rainbows
2 Cryptoheros Sajicas
1 Ottocinclus (heard I should buy more.. guess I can)

Fish questions/points:
FYI I was thinking I might sell the rainbows... I have buyers waiting, I just am having second thoughts. They do look nice in the tank... I just kind of want more space, and a change sometimes.

I am leaning towards buying a big school of rummy nose tetras, but part of me just says to go all in on Harlequin rasboras. Thoughts on that?
I am thinking to maybe if I get rid of rainbows that I could get bolivian rams, or apistogramma(s). That is if these fish could fit in with my Sajicas.

As of now the Sajicas are small/young. One is definitely chasing the other around, but neither could care less about the rest of the tank.

Any suggested scaping ideas? Plant ideas? Fish suggestions?