Overstocking? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-15-2014, 07:58 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (8/100%)
Question Overstocking?

I was wondering. In a heavenly planted tank, could I just over stock my fish instead of adding fertilizer, Co2, ect?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-15-2014, 08:55 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishyfishy101 View Post
I was wondering. In a heavenly planted tank, could I just over stock my fish instead of adding fertilizer, Co2, ect?
No matter how many fish you put in there, they are not going to produce necessary levels of Potassium, Iron, Carbon Dioxide, etc...

Fish produce nitrogen by products, which lead to ammonia and nitrates. They do not produce all fertilizers, so while I'm a relative newb, the answer is 100% no.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-15-2014, 10:21 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

The fish will produce lots of ammonia, which, especially in the absence of other necessary nutrients will probably just grow algae....

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-16-2014, 04:07 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (2/100%)
I think this is the notion that has to be eliminated from the hobby. Simply overstocking your tank is NEVER going to provide enough to supplement your plants.

Plants are like any other pet. They need ferts, C02 and good lighting to be healthy. Simply letting your fish do the maintenance is only going to work for a short time before your tank conditions degrade then you'll end up posting a "algae help" or "help what's wrong with my plant" topic. Understand first what it takes to keep plants in your tank before you put them in there.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-16-2014, 04:13 AM
Planted Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by PortalMasteryRy View Post