Dissolved Oxygen problem? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-10-2014, 01:43 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Dissolved Oxygen problem?

I have a tank that seems to have a problem with low dissolved oxygen (fish gasping at the surface unless I run an airstone). Any suggestions on what could be causing this and how I could resolve it? I'd prefer not to run the airstone if possible to maintain some CO2 for the plants.

Details of the tank are below. If there is any useful troubleshooting details I'm leaving out let me know.

Size: 60 gallon (48" x 13" surface area)
Moderately planted
CO2: none added
Lighting: 108 watts of HO florescent
Fish: ~20 small fish (patties, glowlight tetras, cory cats, bristlenose plecos)
Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate <5 ppm
pH: ~7.6
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-10-2014, 02:19 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

While I'm no expert and will let others chime in, I believe if you are not running CO2 delivery into the tank, surface agitation (Which the air stone accomplishes) actually will provide more CO2 to your plants.

I think lack of dissolved O2 is due to surface tension holding the water at it's exact levels. From what I understand the air stone itself only creates surface agitation which allows for O2 to enter the water column from the air.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-10-2014, 02:33 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
Are you running any type of filter that moves the water column and provides surface agitation? If not then using an air stone might be your only option unless you want to perform water changes everyday.

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-10-2014, 02:36 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (22/100%)
u might want to try and raise your outtake of your filter head to make more surface agitation to alow for more o2. NO need for an air stone because thats all the air stone is meant to do.
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-10-2014, 02:42 AM Thread Starter