Help! New tank- Cloudy then clear then cloudy again? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-03-2014, 12:50 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Help! New tank- Cloudy then clear then cloudy again?

Hi,

I am new to this, and just started my first planted tank yesterday... I set it all up, everything seemed ok (started cloudy and within 2 or 3 hours it became crystal clear) but this morning I woke up and saw the tank and it was CLOUDY! Like cloudier than ever.
So I added some Seachem Clarity and went to work and am now hoping for it to be fixed when I get home... but does anyone know why this would happen? Any advice?

Just some details-
75 gallon
half eco complete and half sand substrate
Cascade 1200 canister filter

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-03-2014, 01:51 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
General advice - I would avoid water clarifiers unless absolutely necessary. Cloudy water generally isn't a life-or-death emergency and clarifiers bind up and precipitate all sorts of stuff from the water, and not all of it is bad stuff. Regardless, this is a short-term fix. If there's something causing your water to cloud, it will just come back. If you've been cloudy for a whole week no matter what you do I might consider a clarifier just to help the plants get light. I also might consider it if I have guests coming and need to improve appearances of the tank in the living room in a hurry.

General causes of cloudy:

- bacterial bloom - if you are cycling with ammonia this adds a lot of nutrient and tends to cause rapid bacterial growth (which is what you are looking for anyway), it will clear up on its own. In an established tank it is likely a sign of sudden nutrient surplus (look for dead things in the tank rotting, overfeeding, etc.).