Diving Back In, Getting Dirty... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old 10-29-2014, 09:50 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Smile Diving Back In, Getting Dirty...

Hi all! I've been out of the aquarium hobby for about five years, but I'm ready to start anew! Been doing my (re)research, and I've got a rudimentary plan laid out. Thought I'd write it out for the experts to take a look over, and hopefully give me some advice for better success.

First, my history. I started out fish keeping with a 10 g non-planted, and soon added a 30 g as MTS (multi-tank syndrome) set in. I started trying a planted tank with the 30 g, adding VERY easy plants (java moss, java fern, crypts). I had a single dual-bulb PC fixture, inert substrate, DIY CO2, OTB filter, and was only dosing liquid ferts, so my results were limited.

After I graduated and got an apartment back in my home town, I consolidated to a single 75 g, and went with AquariumPlants.com's substrate. I added a second PC fixture, stuck with OTB filters, continued with DIY CO2, and was still only dosing liquid ferts. I REALLY wanted a carpet plant to take hold, but never had any luck (I realized even at the time that my chances were low). Dwarf baby tears, dwarf hair grass, and micro sword wouldn't hold root, and ended up in a mess at the top of the tank. However, my crypts exploded, I added a sword that did fairly well, and I had some type of val that grew like a weed (which, admittedly, is basically what val's are).