Anyone try these for planted hill? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-28-2014, 01:21 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Anyone try these for planted hill?

I am a newbie, about to begin my adventure with a planted tank. I have a 75 gallon tank I just bought, and actually created a post yesterday in the "Equipment" forum, so if you have any good advice, feel free to share with me, I would appreciate it!

Anyway, maybe I am so new to this that this idea is totally crappy or totally awesome? I want to build a big hill or plateau, but don't want the soil or substrate to sink. So I found this and thought it could be a great option in keeping substrate/soil up and in shape.
Pond planting bags!

http://www.healthypets.com/laguna-pl...bag-large.html

Idea:

Would this work? Anyone use these? Also, anyone ever try using a tupper-ware container or other object to cover with soil and use as a light weight space filler under the soil to hold the integrity of a hill?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-28-2014, 01:33 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Shouldn't really be necessary. The bags won't stop the top layer of soil rolling down.

What gradient on the slope are you planning? If you want something really step most people build a structure out of egg crate.

add a little soil at a time. spray water as you go. get the soil wet and it will stick. then plant. then slowly fill the tank. I've held 45 degree slopes this way

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-28-2014, 01:45 PM
Planted Member

I used styrofoam to fill space and make a hill. And there are enough rocks in the slope, the sand should hold well and not slide down too much.