Newbie Here, Hi how are you! Help me? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-22-2014, 04:46 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Newbie Here, Hi how are you! Help me?

So my kids won a couple of gold fish recently at the state fair. At first I was like oh great how in the world did this happen to me? We bought a 1 gallon Walmart tank and started feeding them. Little did I know I would quickly embrace this idea and now I wanna go bigger and give them a nice home! Especially after I read how big gold fish can actually get!! But I'm a bit confused on what all I need and don't need. I know I need a filter, but how big? Do I need a skimmer? Do I need to make air bubbles? Do I need one of those wave making machines?

Being that I do nothing the easy way I decided not only would we get a bigger tank, but I might as well build it into the wall while I'm at it. Why not right? I built the house so the construction part will not be a challenge.

But here's my dilemma, before I decided on cutting holes in my walls I was originally going to buy a NUVO SR Aquarium - SR-80. I really like this tank because there is a false wall in the back to hide the filter system, heater, and any other gear which gives you a nice clean setup. But now I'm thinking it would be better if the tank could be visible from both rooms that the tank wall is dividing. So if I bought a more traditional tank that was clear on both sides how do people hide all the tubes and cables that go in there? And for an 80 gallon tank what type and size filter should I be looking at? We only plan on having a few fish and I would like to learn to get live plants growing in there some day.