'Tipping point' for Co2 usage relative to PAR? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-21-2014, 05:28 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
'Tipping point' for Co2 usage relative to PAR?

Hi All,

I'm new to planted tanks and wondering if there's a good rule for when to CO2 to optimize the PAR in the tank? I realize this is a science and that cases differ, but curious if there's some good general guidance (again, new at planted tanks).

Thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-21-2014, 05:36 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (2/100%)
Start with a low amount then increase gradually everyday. The max is when your fish start to gasp for air meaning that you now have too much C02. From there you dial back down. This must be done when you can observe the fish because they can end up dead.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-21-2014, 05:44 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Thank you. I was actually approaching this from the opposite perspective. I'm running a 65 gallon with moderate PAR (I think) and no CO2. I'm switching tanks to one more conducive to plant growth (shorter), though I'd actually rather keep it low-tech for the near future.

So is there a point at which my PAR will become too much and it will prohibit plant health and growth? At what point does PAR become 'too much' without an added CO2 supply?

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-21-2014, 06:03 PM
Wannabe Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by aggressor09 View Post
Thank you. I was actually approaching this from the opposite perspective. I'm running a 65 gallon with moderate PAR (I think) and no CO2. I'm switching tanks to one more conducive to plant growth (shorter), though I'd actually rather keep it low-tech for the near future.