New to Planted Aquariums - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-05-2008, 07:58 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (2/100%)
New to Planted Aquariums

I'm new to the hobby of fish keeping: I have a single, artificially planted 10 gallon tank at the moment, and I'd like to set up my empty 29 gallon tank as a planted aquarium. I've been looking into it for the past couple of weeks, but there are still a few things I'm not clear about.

I'll probably plant mostly crypts, and I would really like a carpet plant if possible, although I'm not sure which is best. Will a Flourite substrate with a layer of small gravel work? I'm most confused about the lighting, as I want something in the medium-to-upper range but I'm not exactly sure what this is and what types of bulbs to use. Is it possible to have reasonably bright tank on a budget? If anyone can give me an idea of what equipment I'll need, that would also be appreciated. My 10 gallon only has a filter, and I'll probably get a Penguin 200 for the new tank, as I've heard it's one of the better brands. Will my tank need a powerhead, and if so, what for? A CO2 system?

I apologize if some of the questions have been asked before, there just seems to be so much to consider in order to keep a healthy planted fish tank.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-05-2008, 09:19 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (20/100%)
There are several type of tanks to set up. First you need to decide if you are going to use either DIY CO2 or regulated CO2. Tanks that have plants and over 2wpg of light will need CO2 without it you can get algae along with your plants.