First Attempt at a Planted Tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-19-2014, 11:46 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
First Attempt at a Planted Tank

Hi everyone! I have been lurking on The Planted Tank forum for weeks, soaking in as much information as I can, but I have a few issues that I can't seem to sort out.

First, here's my set up:
- 45 gallon bowfront
- 2 HOB filters - Fluval C4, and a Aquaclear 30
- Flourite substrate covered by layer of black sand (for my cories)
- Lighting: Fluval LED Full Spectrum strip (cost me more than the tank so I didn't have money for pressurized C02 system!). I have the lights on a timer, 8 hours a day.
- 6 different plants but I'm not good with names...I'll attach photos
- 2 days ago installed a citric acid / bicarbonate semi-DIY C02 system with ADA glass diffuser, running about 1 bps
- GH 4 now that I've added SeaChem's Equilibrium, kH 3, pH 6.8 to 7 at most recent taking before light came on
- Adding SeaChem's Flourish once or twice a week.

My questions:
- Is running the C02 24/7 okay? I ask because it's a bit tricky to get the bps to 1 per second and with my schedule, I don't have a ton of tinker time.
- Is it important for me to order a drop checker? I live in a small town where planted tank equipment is not available.
- Is there any way to stop the whistling sound coming from my glass diffuser?
- It took me about a week to install the C02 system after I planted the plants (I had been to Vancouver, then needed to order the C02 equipment). The plants are okay, but a bit sad, especially the tiny "carpet type" plant at the front. Would I have to run C02 for a few days before I see improvement or should plants start to perk up right away?