125 gallon mold farm extravaganza - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-29-2008, 09:19 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
125 gallon mold farm extravaganza

Ok, if you look to the left, you see I'm a noob. Sorry folks it happens. The reality is that I'm a botanist and have worked in pet stores for 5 years, but I have never really gotten into planted tanks. At least we're not starting at complete zero, huh?

I was handed a 125 gallon that sits in a greenhouse under glass glazing, and in the winter months, I can have some large HID lights over the tank but they'll be about six or more feet away from the tank. The temperature holds between 65 and 90 F.

My problem is that tank has single distilled water in it, it has a few sickly plants in it, and the most lush growth of fungus I have ever seen in an aquatic set up. It's honestly amazing!

I spent a good chunk of a day doing a 90% water change and pulling out an unknown bacopa and literally 3 gallons of solid fungus. It covers the substrate, the plants, the glass, clogs the filters...

Now then, I'd like to get a nice SIMPLE display of aquatic plants going. I'm willing to read anything you'd like to share, from ideas to plant suggestions. The caveats are that I can NOT have any animals in the tank. I can CO2 inject with a 12lb bottle, and I'd like to keep the substrate, if possible, which is turface, gravel, sand, and some commercial substrates which are unknown.

I can add supplements but I don't have infinitely deep pockets for this project.

Input?

Thanks.

Christian

You did something because it had always been done, and the explanation was "but we've always done it this way." A million dead people can't have been wrong, can they?--- Terry Pratchett
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-29-2008, 09:45 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (15/86%)