Ammonia nuking - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-25-2008, 12:04 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (76/98%)
Ammonia nuking

I have a tank where I basicly want to kill everything there but the plants. Leeches have been giving me a headach lately in just this one tank. But I am starting to think I should get a new tank as my hostiptal/holding tank and new everything else just to be safe.

I can remove my fishes, shrimps, and snails no problem but, the plants and substrate seems like an easy place for these things to hide.

Do u think it is possible that I can just pour some ammonia into the tanks to NH4 poisin everything except the plants? Can plants handle high doses of ammonia?

I'm not a doctor in real life but I play one on this forum

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-25-2008, 12:43 AM
planted tank sickness

PTrader: (14/100%)
all the ammonia is likely to trigger some sort of catastrophic algae outbreak

post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-25-2008, 01:03 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

What if I put all the plants in a bucket and NH4 nuke it? I don't really mind the algae as long as I get rid of everything else there. This way I can finally get rid of all my snails.

post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-25-2008, 02:22 AM
Anti iwagumi

PTrader: (113/99%)
how bout nitrite posioning? idk where you can get pure nitrite but it sounds safer since ammonia is deadly to most things. (maybe, just a guess :p)
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-25-2008, 03:03 AM

PTrader: (0/0%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.tran View Post