CO2 questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-24-2008, 08:14 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (4/100%)
CO2 questions

I am new with the CO2 stuff and would like your advise on the right setup for a 60 gallon tank. The tank will have about 216W of lighting bringing the WPG shy of 4wpg.

I am looking for an automated system but am confused about the reactors and diffusers and such. So all help are welcomed.

Also, does anyone know of CO2 source for refill or exchange in the Puget Sound Area?

Thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-24-2008, 08:19 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (266/100%)
I assume you'll have a canister filter.

I recommend a reactor for your tank that's plumbed in-line with your canister filter. Water is pumped through the reactor and CO2 is injected directly into the reactor. Water turbulence helps dissolve the CO2 bubbles. A diffuser is basically a ceramic disc that breaks up the CO2 bubbles into smaller bubbles (much like an airstone) so they can dissolve quickly in water. For a 60 gallon tank, I doubt a diffuser will be efficient enough.

As far as automated systems go, I'd go with a 10# (or the biggest size that will fit) tank, regulator, solenoid, a good needle valve, and a check valve.

I have always run my CO2 systems without a pH controller and don't feel a need to...but this is my personal opinion. I have a timer that controls the solenoid and turns it off at night and turns the CO2 flow back on in the morning.

There's a wide range of regulators out there, from "economy" types to more expensive types. I've always used the "cheaper" ones, but they've always worked well for me. The only thing I would do is buy a better needle valve (which fine tunes the flow of CO2) if you end up going with an economy model since they come with poor needle valves.