Safety precautions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 09-22-2008, 04:59 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (6/100%)
Safety precautions

My little accident yesterday ( https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/eq...im-2213-a.html ) had me thinking a little about the risk of electric shock in our hobby. Random thoughts and questions:

1) I know very little about electricity and such, but I have a lot of respect. Before touching anything in the aquarium, I switch filter and heater off. Necessary? Do you guys do that?

2) My house is quite new and has circuit breakers. The power strips I use are grounded. Is there any danger of a serious electric shock at all?

3) If not, why do the outlets in my bathroom and in the kitchen have this GFCI? If yes, why are GFCIs not installed everywhere?

4) Anything I can do to make things safer? I'm not an electrician (surprise!) and I rent this place. So major installations are not an option.

Looking forward to your input!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Pimp Club Member #313
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 09-22-2008, 05:42 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (40/98%)
1) I don't worry about it. The only electrical components exposed to water around my tank are those designed for it, like filter(with internal heater). If it malfunctions and I get electricuted, I've(or my wife) has a nice check coming from the manufacturer that claimed "fully submersible". I also don't use knock off electrical components.

2) and 3) Many, I think most people, use GFCI outlets. You can buy GFCI power strips.

4)Put a drip loop between your power strip and components, meaning, the lowest part of the cord isn't the plug. I have my power strip mounted 20" off the ground under my stand, very little risk of water exposure.