First planted tank, need help pls. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-14-2008, 08:54 AM Thread Starter
HKR

PTrader: (0/0%)
First planted tank, need help pls.

Hi,
this is the first time i have had a planted tank, its about 2ft long, i guess around 50-60gallon.
I have already got substrate, fertilizer and CO2 tab from a local store. I have 4x18watts Tubes for lighting. Also have a few plants (dont know the names since i am a total noob when it comes to aquariums). I just did the setup 3days ago, i also have installed a water filter with 700lt/hr capacity, a water heater set to 26degree Celsius. Currently i havnt put any fishes in it, as i was told not to, so as to give the plants enough time to get adjusted and stuff.
Now i just wanted you opinions as to if everything seem ok?
I also havea problem, each time i change the water, within a few minutes the water again goes all dark and gloomy, the first 2days i changed the complete water twice a day, but again it becomes all gloomy. Any suggestions on what could be wrong?

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-14-2008, 09:07 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (2/100%)
What kind of substrate did you use? Sounds to me like it might not of got rinsed good enough.

My planted tank. 55 gallon fluorite substrate over soil, 64 watts of light, excel twice a week. Weekly water changes. Angelfish pair, guppies, BN plecos and otos. Redone 11/13/2012
One non planted tanks. 75 gallon.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-14-2008, 09:28 AM Thread Starter
HKR

PTrader: (0/0%)
I dont really know what kind of substrate it is, its brown color just like soil, however i have attached a pic of the tank, maybe you can get any idea then.I dont think it is the problem of rinsing, as you can see in the pic, the substrate is coverd with sand on top.

PIC: http://img382.imageshack.us/my.php?i...mage109ox4.jpg

post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-14-2008, 12:27 PM