I need ... I need moral support and help with EVERYTHING. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-05-2008, 10:06 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
I need ... I need moral support and help with EVERYTHING.

Hey guys,
I'm new (very new) to planted tanks. As a matter of fact, I only started to seriously consider the concept this week, and I've been researching like crazy... but I've also been reading so many sites and articles that I just confused myself more.

So.
I have two empty ten gallons right now. I also have bettas, and nothing but bettas, so I'd need put a divider up in each one.

Here are my questions, and I'm sorry if they are ridiculous.

Is planting a divided tank essentially the same as a non-divided one? I ask because-- okay, here's the stupid question...
I live in Brooklyn, so I'm really not an expert on plants , but... plants, uh, grow. As I recall. (And thus concludes my knowledge of plants.)

So... do they also grow while planted in an aquarium? What if they get far too big for your tank? Do you... "prune" them? Now I'm imagining some sort of waterproof weed-whacker...

And so... when you get the plants, can you just put them in your tank immediately or do you have to, you know, put them in pots first and do... gardening-type things?

I have been browsing some aquatic plant websites and they describe "low light" plants, which I think is what I want. BUT. Are they referring to how bright the lights themselves are (I assume so) and/or how long one keeps the lights turned on?

And they also say that plants are sold in "bunches", but I am not sure how large a bunch would be. They seem rather inexpensive (less than $2, some of them), so... do you have to purchase... a BUNCH of bunches?

And finally, is a planted tank significantly more expensive than a non-planted tank?

Please don't laugh (too hard) at me.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-05-2008, 10:23 PM