Stocking for a frequently moved aquarium?? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-23-2014, 07:08 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Stocking for a frequently moved aquarium??

I have a 10 gallon tank half full of plants that needs to be able to travel 4 or 5 times a year (I'm in college).

What are some fish that can easily survive a 3 hour trip back home and then another trip back a week or 2 later.

I know that a betta would be a popular choice, but I'm not particularly fond of flashy fish. I was thinking of some small schooling fish or maybe even some African dwarf frogs (or both) if they are hardy enough.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-23-2014, 07:19 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (1/100%)
As a recent college graduate, I completely sympathize with your situation, but this just seems like a sort of bad idea to me.

Have you considered putting together a seasonal pond tank? If there is a freshwater body of water near your campus, you could bring your aquarium to school and set it up exclusively (and I really mean exclusively - you don't want to mix domesticated species with wild ones) with wild caught plants and animals after thoroughly consulting a field guide to make sure they are not endangered. When you have to move back home, avoid the stress of moving living things across the country by simply dumping your tank back into the swamp from which it came.

I used to do this when I was little, and it was a total blast. If you collect soil, water, and plants from a wild pond (just don't be greedy or too destructive!), it is incredibly enchanting to see what sort of creatures develop in your tank. Various larvae, fish fry, tad poles, and all sorts of creatures spontaneously start popping up in your tank.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-23-2014, 09:27 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower