looking for advice - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-26-2008, 07:14 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
looking for advice

I am starting a 15g high planted tank. I have never done this before and am looking for good starting plant suggestions and any general advice. The dust has settled after putting down 3 inches of flourite and about an inch to an inch and a half of a sand cap. I have a "C" Whisper filter and heater and am going to try a DYI Co2 injection that I found on this site. Thanks to all for reading
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-26-2008, 11:37 PM

I wouldn't start with a highly/heavily planted tank for your first tank, I would start with a lightly planted tank, because if you're a starter, then you would for sure have a lot of problems with your fauna (fish) and plants, even though you read a lot. start easy first then go big! And welcome to the plantedtank!
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-27-2008, 12:41 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

thanx for the reply and i'll do that and start slow-cool

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-27-2008, 02:13 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (10/100%)
I actually disagree, if you are going for a planted tank you will have your lights on for a long period of time regardless of whether you have a lot of plants or a few. The difference is that if you have a few plants, you are going to have lots of algae, whereas with lots of plants you will have less. If you start out with a hardy fish species and a fast growing plant for the wattage you are going to use, then the biggest problem will be algae.

What you should do is make sure the CO2 is up and running and then fill the tank with a bunch of fast growing stem plants. By choosing easy to care for plants you are avoiding the pitfall of adding in all the plants you want which may or may not do well in a non-established tank.
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-27-2008, 02:21 AM