Transitioning from no-tech to...something else... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-12-2014, 11:13 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Transitioning from no-tech to...something else...

For the past 20 years I've had aquariums going in one form or another, all planted, but low light, no tech to speak of. I've (apparently) mastered keeping fish (10 year old tetras!) but with plants I'm still a novice.

Well, I'm tried of it, of my anemic anubias forest, of never being able to keep anything else alive. A generally boring planted tank.

I wonder if anyone could provide some guidance in terms of what a logical "next step" would be without going crazy into hundreds of dollars of CO2 tanks and Takashi density.

In a nut shell, what am I going to need to spend in terms of $$$ for fertz, test kits, etc.

My current setup is one of the Fluval Flora tanks (just under 10G cubes) with the 15Watt light. The horrible stratum will be coming out in favor of fluorite.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-12-2014, 05:37 PM
PK1
Algae Grower

Basis your high-level description here's what I would do:

- Keep your light
- Change the substrate to something better (Aquasoil or similar)
- Buy PMDD ferts online (not pre-bottled ferts like Seachem, those are pricey), you will be set back $45-$60 and it will last you years
- Add CO2: if you have the budget, pressurized is always better, if not go DIY

Read up on EI or other methods of dosing. Start with easy low-light plants, get your CO2 and fertilization regimen in order and you'll see much better results. Don't overdo lights, this is how many people get in trouble.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-12-2014, 08:02 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (9/100%)
Discussions tend to focus on either low or high tech tanks, but there's actually a very broad spectrum between the two.