Changing to a planted tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-22-2008, 06:59 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (1/100%)
Changing to a planted tank

Lots of information here, but I am new to planted tanks and still confused.
I did plant up a 10G with eco- complete and It was very easy to plant, water cleared up in just an hour or so and plants are doing ok. It was expensive though and I had to go all the way to Houston to get it (90 miles one way)
Locally I only have Petco and Petsmart and except for 1 5lb bag of fluorite there is nothing for a planted tank here in town.
I would like to convert my 20 gal to a planted tank. All that is in there now is regular gravel.
I was going to try the Schultz aqua soil if they have it at my local Lowes or home depot.
Is there a way to plant in the gravel I already have by just putting soil in certain areas or do I need to replace the whole thing?
Should I do it a little at a time or move my fish to another tank for the day and redo the whole tank at once?
maybe I should just buy another tank and leave this one unplanted?????
Any suggestions appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-22-2008, 11:35 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Do both things. Buy a new one and plant the old one.

I haven't tried a plain gravel setup yet, but many people have run them successfully. Given your tank has aged and there's gunk among/beneath the gravel, it makes for an interesting experiment. Go low (moderate) light and it should be all ok. Think of all the feedback you'd get from it. You can always enrich the substrate with root tabs if necessary.

Cheers.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-22-2008, 11:42 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (42/100%)