Do I need more filtration? (and bioload question) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-22-2008, 02:55 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (17/100%)
Do I need more filtration? (and bioload question)

So I'm wondering if I need more filtration on my 30g tank or if what I have is good for my bio-load?

Currently it has an Aquaclear 50 HOB which is rated for tanks 20-50gallons. I currently have 6 pygmy cories, 1 sparkling Gourami and 1 bamboo shrimp. I have 15 Ember Tetras and 15 Boraras brigittae (microrasboras) on the way. I want to add 1-2 more Sparkling gourami's, and possibly round out the pygmy cories to an even school of 10. I know it's a lot of fish, but they're all tiny...is this too much bioload for the one filter or should I be ok? Am i still under my bioload given the absolutely tiny size of the my fish choices? I'm not new to keeping fish, but I am new to keeping itty bitty nano-fish so I'm not sure how to factor them in filtration / "inch per gallon" wise.

Thanks in advance!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

3 year old Tibetan Terrier named Whisky
11 year old miniature Poodle named Cody
I enjoy having a zoo to care for!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-22-2008, 05:01 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (10/100%)
Well tiny fish put out less of a bioload, and the inch/gallon rule is more like a guide line, Personally if I were you I'f wait for your microrasbora to arrive and watch your tank for a few weeks and see how it balances out, if everything is fine and dandy and your paramaters are healthy, and your tank has plenty of swimming room for everyone, you could try to round out your cories then.