Beginner 40 gallon breeder - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-21-2008, 04:05 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Beginner 40 gallon breeder

I love the look of planted tanks and I have been doing reef tanks for 2 or 3 years now with my dad and I had a spare 40 breeder and a reef light sitting around so I decided to turn it into a reef tank.
The lighting is 6x 39 watt over a 40gallon. 5.85 WPG... I think that it is too much so I only turn one side on ATM, which is 2.9 WPG but if I'm wrong please tell me otherwise.

I am using a deep flourite sand bed., and I bought a red sea CO2 paintball system. Its a paintball CO2 canister thats hooked up to all this stuff, pretty easy to use. I only have a few plants in there, and I turned the co2 on and the the 10 Neon tetras I have were all at the top gasping for breath. SO I figured I needed to wait until I had alot more plants in the tank before I could put it into good use.

For a stocklist I am thinking
10 N.Tetras
8 Rhasbora
A group of Oto cats
2 GBRams
What plants will I be able to keep under this setup? I assuming most stuff? Also if anyone can explain to me all this CO2 stuff, or lead me in the right direction it would be awesome.
Oh, and if this tank turns out good, my parents will supply me the funds to do a 125g planted show tank with my pops in our living room.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-21-2008, 04:23 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (10/100%)
Thats quite a bit of light being pumped in there. How much is actinic?
You should be able to keep pretty much any plants in there provided ph and what not are all within range.
What are you dosing for ferts or planning on dosing for ferts?
I think you might want a drop checker to keep tabs on your co2. Co2 isn't an all or nothing thing. You can or should be able to control the amoun in the tank so you can use it now with out killing your fish.