New Aquarium... Advice please! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-08-2014, 05:57 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
New Aquarium... Advice please!

Hi all,

I have joined this forum to get to know some people with similar interests and gain from your wealth of experience!!

I have recently set up an aquarium, photos attached, and although I am relatively happy, i am not overjoyed, and I am certain it can be improved. (Doesn't look a patch on he green machine expert on YouTube!!!)

I am a beginner to planted aquariums and aquascaping, apart from having had a small 30l for the past year to try out the basics.

I am looking to be more experimental and hoped for some advance on some other plants I could add to the set up.

Comments are all welcome, however critical!! Maybe I even need to adjust the location of the stones??

I will be adding a black background over the next couple of days.

Thanks in advance for all your help
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1410198766167.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	70.1 KB
ID:	368033  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1410199051250.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	80.9 KB
ID:	368041  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-08-2014, 06:19 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (5/100%)
Since your relatively new to the aquarium scene let's start with the specs of your tank to allow others, myself included, to appropriately recommend plants and possibly fish. After we get your specs in order we can fully recommend some things based off of the route you want to go with the tank

Just food for thought. Typically good beginner plants are swords, crypts, dwarf sag, mosses, Ludwigia, java fern, and Anubias to name a few.

Also on aquascaping the rock and substrate combination looks fine, however I feel the rocks are to centralized make your focal point to one side or the other.

Any questions just ask.