Need advice how should I do a 3 day blackout to combat BGA. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-06-2014, 09:41 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Need advice how should I do a 3 day blackout to combat BGA.

Hi,

This is my first time, and soon after I found some had costly experience with blackouts on how it killed their fish, and some even taking a big hit with their plants.

My blackout just started 4 hours ago - and if you've done blackouts before, please let me know. Here's what I did.

Medium-heavy planted, CO2 tank, 16 gallons with HC, mini hairgrass, java moss, some stem plants, 2 dozen shrimps, 10 tetras.

Fed the fish their normal daily feed this morning, then I did a 60% water change/cleaning and siphoned off as much BGA as possible.

Then I wrapped my tank with aluminium foil, but was careful to leave a small crack to let some indirect light in at the top. This also lets air in. Is it really necessary for pitch black? I don't think so, but is that right?

I didn't place an airstone. Is it really necessary because the pump is running causing surface water agitation. I use a Lily pipe outlet but I don't break the surface. If needed, I can adjust to break the surface. From my opinion its not needed as long as there's surface movement, but some have experienced dead fish due to oxygen deprivation. Not sure about their setup.

Will my plants take a big hit after a 72 hour blackout?

Will the fish be okay for 3 days without feeding?

Some notes:-
Switched off the CO2
Did not dose the tank after WC

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-06-2014, 02:49 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
The black out isn't what killed others fish, something else happened to cause that. An air stone is suggested because during a blackout, plants use O2 along with the fish, depending on how much surface agitation you have will determine if you need to add one.