Backround Color? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-17-2008, 03:08 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
Backround Color?

This may be a dumb question but I'm gonna ask it anyway- Why does everybody use a black backround when that color absorbs more light than any other color? Why wouldn't you use white?

I would think that would be the brightest and most beneficial. I build decks for a living and when I work on a house that has been painted white or another light color I find my self squinting all day and having a headache from the bright light.

I understand that black looks great as a backround color aesthetically.

I may just be dumb and missing something obvious but I am just to curious.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-17-2008, 03:12 PM
Fresh Fish Freak

PTrader: (70/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorenmws View Post

I understand that black looks great as a backround color aesthetically.
That's the answer for me.

Some ppl do use white, though.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Next meeting Monday, Oct 13, 2014 @ 7:15pm- See ya there!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-17-2008, 03:42 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (40/98%)
Send a message via MSN to fishbguy1
I use black and blue, depending on the tank. Black shows more color in plants and fish, but blue makes the tank look bigger. Show's more depth.

White will show ALL of the dirt in the tank, and all the algae growing on the wall. IME, back walls are hard to clean because of plants, pipes, tubes, etc. You would want something that would hide algae.