Help with Newbie planted Tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-18-2014, 06:57 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Help with Newbie planted Tank

Hello there

I have been in the hobby since 2000 doing nothing but freshwater and numerous setups from small tanks to huge tanks. Big Central Americans to Huge African Cichlids. I have found my self waiting to do a Geophagus tank along with a planted tank. Current setup is 135g running a FX5 and tons of driftwood and pool filter sand as substrate. I started buying Amazon Sword and Jungle val but my Loaches witch are Huge have destroy everything from darting back and fourth. Is this setup gonna work or should I just not bother with it. I'm new to plants and have no idea what I'm doing so any help would be great thanks!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-18-2014, 07:08 PM
Algae Grower

Since you been in the hobby for several years, I don't have to tell you about anything other than the inhabitants of the tank itself when it comes to planted tank. Depending on the live stock you choose, you will be successful when it comes to planting. If you NEED to have loaches in the tank, it is better you get only the plants that are tied to driftwood or rocks (anubias). Loaches would destroy the plants and you'll have a difficult time with plants in general with fish like that.

In a planted tank, i would prefer small cories, tetras, angels, discus, barbs, guppies, mollies, swords, etc (not necessarily all together. just naming a few fishes I would have in there. please check compatibility before putting them together).
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-18-2014, 07:12 PM Thread Starter

I was thinking that would be a problem I have had these Clown loaches for many years and they have grown into Monster loaches so with that in mind I may have to part with them. Thanks for the tips and helpful setup sure there's more to come!!