TSS fishless cycle with plants?! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-18-2014, 04:23 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
TSS fishless cycle with plants?!

Hi all,

I have a 6 gallon nano tank I am trying to cycle with Tetra Safe Start. I already had some (dying) plants which are planted.

I have used organic worm castings (because I had some at home and I boiled beforehand) as my substrate with plain gravel on top. I also stuck in 2 root tabs for the plants (one is an Anubia and I think the other is java fern?)

After dosing with Safe Start the other day, my levels today are:
Ammonia 1.0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate >160

I did a 70% water change due to the nitrate spike.

Does the low ammonia and 0 nitrite suggest that after this water change, my tank will be cycled? I am a beginner and still trying to figure this out.

I am hoping to put in Red Cherry Shrimp to this setup, and maybe some fish. Please advise!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-18-2014, 04:58 PM
Planted Tank Guru

You need a constant ammonia source. TSS is ment to be used with fish in not fishless, also not supposed to do wcs. You probably removed the free floating bacteria.

75 Gallon Low Tech w/ Green Terror Pair
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-18-2014, 05:37 PM
Algae Grower

TSS is doing exactly as advertised and dealing with whatever ammonia/nitrites you had in the system at the time it was poured in.

What you dont know right now is if those bacteria survived and are propagating. You need to continue to feed the bacteria (using ammonia) and monitor your levels. When your tank can safely process 2ppm in a 24 hour period is when I would call your cycle completed.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.