Planted Tank Planaria problem - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-13-2014, 11:14 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Planted Tank Planaria problem

PH KH GH NO3- NO2- NH3/NH4+
6.4 50 125 50 0 0

This is my first post in the forum. Yay!

Anyway, this is my tank and it is my first time to keep shrimps and maintain a planted tank. Here is what happened:

2 months ago: I had the new tank filled with plants except the carpeting Hairgrass. I introduced 3 Crystal Red shrimps and there were very happy. I fed them with the Hikari Shrimp Cuisine and everything was fine.

1 month ago: I started growing Hairgrass in my tank. I immediately felt it became difficult to clean the substrates, but according to some articles the plants with absorb left over nutrients so I only have to clean the substrates lightly.

2 weeks ago: I put 3 Otto catfishes inside my tank and I placed a feeding plate (as shown on the lower right corner in my photo)with some shrimps food and algae wafers on it. I thought that the shrimps will swim up to the plate and eat with the Otto. After a few days, it seemed the shrimps were scared of the Ottos and refused to swim up to the feeding plate. However, I didn't pay too much attention as I saw people feed their CRSs with the Ottos on the same feeding plate

1 week ago: 1 of the 3 CRS died and I was very surprised. However, I didn't know the reason so I just wait and see.

3 days ago: Another CRS died and I think it is died of hunger. So instead of leaving the food on the feeding plate, I just dropped the foods (Shrimp Cuisine) on the water surface and let them sink. Some foods were stuck inside the carpet and I think it would be difficult for the shrimp to eat it.