New To The Hobby! Tips Please! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-08-2014, 01:42 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New To The Hobby! Tips Please!

Hi guys, I'm new to the hobby so any tips or suggestions are greatly welcomed! Thanks in advance! So let me put out a brief info about my set up.

I have a 10 gallon rectangular tank that has been running for about 6 weeks now. I have a few fish in it that have been doing very well. On the other hand, my plants aren't that fortunate. I picked up a top fin 10 gallon starter kit from petsmart. I basically only have the tank left since I upgraded the heater, filter and I just ordered new lighting and a glass hood. I'm aware that the lights that come with the kit are complete garbage and that's why I ordered the Finnex FugeRay Planted+ 20", as I've heard incredible things about it.

I have a few plants in there that aren't doing very well so I could REALLY use some help. I'm using play sand as my substrate, which I rinsed 20 thousand times. As of today I have the following plants:
1 Banana Plant
1 Anubis Plant
1 Wysteria
2 bunches of Java Moss (tied to driftwood)
1 Java Fern and a baby one too
1 Amazon Sword
1 Moss Ball

A picture of my tank is attached for reference. I could really use some help! Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Aquarium .jpg
Views:	84
Size:	41.9 KB
ID:	354457  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-08-2014, 02:13 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (11/100%)