What is this free swimming worm? Parasite? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-03-2014, 07:08 PM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
What is this free swimming worm? Parasite?

I suspect this is a fish parasite of some sort, and posted in another forum, but on the off chance it is something related to things that live in plants...

And I am really new to aquariums, and so worry for anything unusual....

I noticed what looked like rapidly swirling hair, and then realized it was some kind of free swimming worm. I only noticed as it was up near the light.

I scooped it out in a plastic cup where it is extremely actively swimming at the top of the water, vertical in orientation. it is about 8 mm long give or take, so this is a rather extreme blowup, the horizontal lines are the top of the water in the cup.

Tank details below. I have not feed any live food. I have fed packaged, freeze dried bloodworms, which this looks remotely like, but not all that much.

I am currently using a heat-only treatment for ich, on about day 7 at 88F, most signs are gone from the one fish that had it, everyone else was/is healthy looking. I have seen no signs of anything like this hanging on fish.

Other recent event is I did a filter clean for the first time 2 days ago, and it's very possible something got washed out that was living in it. It was not very dirty, and I very lightly rinsed the spongy media in its own water. It's a fluval 306.

Ghost shrimp are pregnant and giving off larvae but this doesn't look like any photos I've seen (and I assume the fish are eating them before I see them).

Is this a sign of some parasite I should be concerned about? This particular one is out of the tank of course, but it seems unlikely to be the only one, regardless of what it is.