Co2 and lights on same timer? - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-30-2014, 10:36 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Co2 and lights on same timer?

If you run a 6 or 8 hour photo period, perhaps split up as 2 hours in AM and 4 hours in PM, does it make sense to run the pressurized co2 solenoid off the same timer as the lights? rather than running it 24/7, or running it on some other schedule?
thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-30-2014, 10:51 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
I am no expert as I am still learning myself. However, I think you want your photo period to be one shot. I used to split it up but was advised against that on the thought that your fish and plants need a day similar to ours. A period of light and a period of dark instead of light-dark-light-dark. I do DIY CO2 which doesn't produce enough to have to be turned off. However, I am sure that you should turn your CO2 on about 2 hours before lights.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-30-2014, 11:00 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (6/100%)
Not speaking from experience. I don't use CO2 except for Excel, that CO2 substitute.
I have read on here many times that with an injected system you should start 1-2 hrs
before the light comes on(depending on who wrote it) and then off an hr before the lights go off. Some also say 1/2 hr before.
They do now have multi function timers. If yours is not one of them, it would seem
better to use seperate timers.
Please wait for other replies as without experience, my credibility in this matter is at least questionable. Just letting you know what I have read on here.

The shortest distance between any two points is a straight line...in the opposite direction...

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-30-2014, 11:13 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (11/100%)