Thoughts on liquid ferts and other... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-30-2014, 03:40 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Thoughts on liquid ferts and other...

Hi All,

I have been running my 50 gallon planted tank for about 18 months or so. I am not new to keeping fish or even plants but I am not getting the results I want. Since I have been running the tank I have upgraded to and AquaticLife T5HO fixture running a 6700K and 10,000K bulb. I started doing DIY CO2 about 8 weeks ago. Though I have a lot of understanding I am still learning. I have been using FlorinMulti (fertilizer) and FlorinAxis (bioavailable carbon source) though I have to admit that I am not consistent with it. The directions say 5ml/week (6 drops daily) and I usually get it in the tank every 7-10 days. I was doing the daily dosing but was not sure how to dose after WCs. Should I dose the 5ml and then daily?...just daily?...5ml, wait a few days and start daily? All very confusing. I do use Flourish Tabs and have 6 spread throughout the the substrate. I have scaled light back from 12 to 8 hours. I have noticed a substantial improvement since starting CO2 but I still have more algae than desired. This is not really my biggest concern. Well, actually it is. I have what I believe is green beard algae, green dust algae and a little stag horn/hair algae.

Are there any suggestions I can try for dialing this down? I got 3 flag fish yesterday and am hoping that they will munch on it. I noticed that they were munching on the stuff on the back glass, which I decided I am not going to continue to scrape as it seems to be a losing battle. I am hoping that by continuing weekly (7-10 days) WCs and this will eventually run its course.