Hello everyone! (beginner ?'s) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-22-2008, 05:03 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Hello everyone! (beginner ?'s)

Hello everyone! I'm from fishlore so i'm not a total beginner in aquariums, but I am a beginner in keeping planted tanks (aside from java moss and java fern).

I just acquired a 55gallon tank that I am currently fixing up (I'm re-sealing the bottom and top of the tank, and then having to clean off the hard water stains (i think they are) that are making it ugly).

I want to go full planted in this tank, and had a few ?'s.

First off, I don't know if this makes a difference, but here is the list of aquatic life that will be in this tank:

6x White cloud minnow
6x Otocinclus
6x Mollies
6x Cherry Barb
1x Platinum angelfish

Ok here are my ?'s:

1. I know that using sand as a substrate is easier in terms of the daily cleaning (removing gunk from the bottom of the tank), but will it help with plants? Is it better to use sand, or does it not matter at all?

2. What do you recommend for lighting? Also, will I have to get a whole new hood for the tank, or can I use the hood that it came with (it's just the basic lighting.. i think it's fluorescent.. I'm not sure lol)

If you have anything else you could share with me i'd much appreciate it. The tank won't be ready to start stocking for at least 2 weeks (i'll be using Bio-Spira now that I found out my LFS sells it )

Thanks a lot everyone!!! Must say i'm excited to see a lof of PA members here.. and I didn't even know about PAPAS until now
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-22-2008, 05:12 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (86/100%)
Hello and welcome to PT!
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-22-2008, 05:16 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (26/100%)