A week old tank, plants already dying - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-17-2014, 03:20 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
A week old tank, plants already dying

Hi, been a lurker for a while..posting for the first time because I'm having trouble already.

I started a tank about a week ago as soon as plants arrived. Some of them didn't look good out of package but figured this was normal so I put them in, thinking as long as I have lights on moderately they would grow. Since this is low tech I didn't think I would have any trouble but I see plants browning already. This is my first attempt at plants so I'm new at this.

Size: 20 Long
Filter: Fluval Aquaclear 50
Light: Current USA Satellite LED+ (12 hours a day)
Substrate: Eco-complete (2 bags, about 2 inches deep)
Temperature: 75-78 degrees
Plants: Amazon Sword, Anubias, Cabomba, Chain Sword, Undulata, Java Fern, Ludwigia, Micro Sword, Water Sprite, Hornwort

No CO2 injection. Been using Flourish Excel daily. I also have Flouish Tabs for fertilizer but haven't used them yet.

I doubt the tank is cycled yet but ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, chlorine levels were all very low, so my Zebra Danios are very active and healthy for now. But my pH level seemed very high, close to 8 if I remember correctly. Does this affect plants? Not sure of other measurements. Also I've been considering changing the light fixture to Finnex Fugeray since Satellite+ has a fairly low PAR. But since most of my plants are low light based I thought this wouldn't be an issue.

So what do you think I should do? They're still alive but I think it's only a matter of time.

Here's the picture from when I first started:

This is what it looks like now (took it few hours ago)

Anubias dying

This one is better but that's not saying much

Cabomba (middle) looks good on top, but not so good near the substrate. Ludwigia on left looks bad too.