1.5" MarinePure substrate in a Eheim cannister filter - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-03-2014, 11:42 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
1.5" MarinePure substrate in a Eheim cannister filter

So after much consideration comparing opinions on the 1.5" MarinePure and BioHome Ultimate substrates I've decided to go with the MarinePure to filter my new 125 gal planted. I'll be using two Eheim 3e Pro canister filters each with 4 baskets measuring 7.25" x 7.25" x 2.25" tall. Since this is my first tank and I have no practical experience, throughout my research I've assumed a good filter media would be a complicated mish mash of things piled on top of each other to help ensure the water flowed THROUGH as much of the media as possible before exiting the filter. But now considering the size of my filter baskets (2.25" tall) and the size of the MarinePure media (1.5") I'm not so sure I'll be getting the 'flow through' that I wanted. Because of the basket height I'll only be able to layer a single layer of MaringPure filter balls in each basket. Even though I'll have 2 baskets in each canister with this media it still seems like it'll be loaded in too sparingly (not stacked on top of itself) to ensure good flow through the media itself. With this setup it seems like the flow would be more likely to go around the filter balls instead of through them.

Is this setup going to be sufficient?

Second idea is to have sponge filters in the bottom basket, then pile MarinePure in the second basket up to the level of the top of the third basket leaving the third basket out, then the fourth basket would contain some Purigen.

Third idea is to use MarinePure 1.5" in each of baskets 2 and 3 but then put a small layer of a smaller mech filter material on top of each of the ball layers to help force flow through the MarinePure.

Thanks I'm all ears!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement