Is my 29g Community Tank Overstocked? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-01-2014, 01:03 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Is my 29g Community Tank Overstocked?

Im Just starting out with my first planted tank and im addicted! its a 29 gal and i'm wanting to know if it's is badly over stocked or just slightly, Either way im pretty sure im pushing it. Also i was wanting to add a bamboo shrimp to complete the tank and wanted any opinions on the idea, Thanks Alot!

I have a 30gph and a 50 gph filter on it with an underwater whisper pump attached to a hose to increase the flow near the bottom. The bottom is white sand over a layer or activ-flora substrate with 13 plants growing and 7 pieces of driftwood in it. heres the list of fish ive had for a couple weeks now,

1 Dwarf Gaurami
1 Male German Blue Ram
1 Spotted african leaf fish(perch)
1 yoyo loach
3 Hatchet fish
2 oto
1 Glass catfish
3 corries
2 fancy guppys
2 borneo suckers
2 swamp darters
4 neon tetras
9 Ghost shrimp

I change about 20% of the water weekly and feed them frozen brine shrimp along with flake food and an algea pellet every now and then and there is always very little waste that accumulates on the bottom, almost none at all.
Thanks Alot!
Water
Nitrite 0.0
Nitrate 20
PH 7.0
Carbonate Hardness 80
General hardness 120

-Kyle
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20140528_17_48_07_Pro[2].jpg
Views:	57
Size:	80.6 KB
ID:	328402  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-01-2014, 02:21 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

I wouldn't think so but I don't know.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-01-2014, 04:05 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
I would say you are, if you don't have a tank to move some of these fish to once they outgrow this one.

Here are some issues I see with your stocking:
- Leopard Ctenopomas ("spotted leaf fish") get large, 6", and are predators. Your neons will be eaten.