is my tank ready for a fish yet? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-29-2014, 02:20 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (6/100%)
is my tank ready for a fish yet?

I'm in need of some advice, please! I set up my 10g abou 3 weeks ago. I'm cycling with plants and I filled the tank halfway with established water from my 29g and topped off with treated tap water. I placed some bio media from my 29g into the 10g's filter hoping it would help establish the beneficial bacteria more quickly. Well, I've been testing the water every few days. Been getting consistent readings of:

0 ammonia
0 nitrites
0 nitrates

Has the tank fully cycled? Do I need to add some food to kick start it? I can't imagine that the plants have been using all of the nitrates, or is that possible. So confused! I want to get a Betta for in it, but I want to be 100% sure the tank is ready.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm still pretty new to all of this stuff
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-29-2014, 02:44 AM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
If you have added a source of ammonia and those are your numbers you are all set

Sent from my SM-T210R using Tapatalk
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-29-2014, 02:48 AM
Algae Grower

You want to make ammonia go up to 1ppm or more and then get the ammonia lower and lower then u will mave a nitrite spike then those will get lower and lower then you will have a nitrate spike then that will get lower and lower. Despite what u have heard of no ammonia in the tank ever, when you cycle a tank you want to put a sour e of ammonia whetherbthat is fish food or ammonia straight from a bottle. If u just add bacteria and water wait then add your fish u r essentially doing the FISH cycle where the fish produces ammonia and endures that ammonia. Look on youtube or google for more information on how to cycle a tank if I am confusing you

Sent from my SM-T210R using Tapatalk