Lace plant problem - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-29-2004, 01:55 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (7/100%)
Three weeks ago I noticed little white hairs growing out of the bulb of my Madagascar lace. Since then it has spread across the top of the bulb. It looks like some sort of mold. It doesn't readily scrape off either. I don't know if I should be concerned or not. Any info would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-29-2004, 12:13 PM
PT Biologist

PTrader: (4/100%)
Other than the hairs is anything happening? Does the plant look OK, is there a funny smell, etc.? Are the leaves firmly attached to the bulb or do they pull out when you touch them?

Sean

Aquascape? I'm a crypt farmer.

It's a fine line between fishing and standing on the shore looking like an idiot.

That IS an aquascape, it's titled "The Vacant Lot".
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-30-2004, 04:30 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

I thought it was going into dormancy as it started dropping most of its leaves. Their are 5 smaller leaves that don't look so good they feel "mushy" and look like they are melting, but there are some new leaves and they are in good shape. I rearranged the tank proir to this and the plant was doing fine. The bulb itself is still hard, its not soft at all.

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-30-2004, 10:16 AM
PT Biologist

The firm bulb is a good sign though not conclusive. Get the bad leaves out of there. When you rearainged the tank did the plant have a root system started or is all of the growth leaves?

Mine are still flowering, the dormancy period for my tank is usually late August resuming growth in late September. How long are your lights on during the day?

Sean

It's a fine line between fishing and standing on the shore looking like an idiot.

post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-30-2004, 11:56 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast