Water Test kits, help a newbie. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-20-2014, 04:03 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Water Test kits, help a newbie.

Hello everyone! Im 1 month in this hobby now and have experienced problems like algaes(green dust algae, green spot algae, green thread algae, black brush algae) I really think too much lighting is the main cause but Im not sure, I think I have fix most of my algae problems except for green dust algae(keeps coming back) and black brush algae(very small and unnoticable YET). For a month I only use test strips to test my water but the colors on the strips BARELY change...Either my water quality is ALWAYS very good or test strips are just useless, and since Im a newbie I dont think my water quality is always good..so test strips are just useless.

So yeah Im thinking on spending a little more on this hobby and get a proper test kit. What type of test kit do you think are the most needed and you recommend getting?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-20-2014, 05:24 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

API Master test kit is good but it is very inconvenient and i had a hard time matching colours. Your water might be good. Take it to a local LFS and have them test it and compare the results with yours.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-20-2014, 05:26 PM
Algae Grower

I know many people use the API master test kit. That said, algae problems are mostly caused by and imbalance of nutrients, CO2, and light. Of course the most common cause with low tech tanks is too much light. What size tank do you have, how long has it been running, and what equipment are you using?

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-20-2014, 09:21 PM
Planted Member

+1 for the API Master test kit

make sure to get the freshwater version of the kit
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-20-2014, 10:11 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (11/100%)