Help setting up a new tank (70x70x30cm) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-11-2014, 04:14 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Help setting up a new tank (70x70x30cm)

Hey guys, I'm a novice aquarist from Australia and I'm planning on getting my first proper tank build. I currently manage a 10 gallon Walstad tank which survives by itself.

I have set aside around 500 dollars from my allowance to set this up. I want to buy a 70cm long, 70cm wide and 30cm tall tank. I want to keep it low tech as possible.

I want to create a set up similar to the BucketOMud by Bigtom or The Spawning Pool-- 75g shallow square by vincenz, but keep it under the budget.
  • I have been quoted around $150 for the tank (6mm glass, rimmed)
    $185 for the stand (just the shell, no draws, I wan't to haggle this down, paying way too much I feel).
  • For the light, I think a 2 Foot 2 lamp T5HO ballast should be enough for medium-ish lighting, what do you guys think? I'd like to have a light which can be hung from above (from a stand) but I can't find one, so I think I'll have to stick with a CFL ballast. I just hope the emersed plants can survive.
  • For the filter, I have no idea, because my tank right now runs on no filter and is doing fine, but I think maybe something rated at 150l/ph should be sufficient. Main thing is good flow, and I hope the filter provides enough. Any recommendations?
  • As per the heating, I think I'll try and run this on no filter, but if you guys think I need one any recommendations?

I just want to keep it under 500, and spend maybe around 200 for the equipment, no more, I'll buy stuff of ebay and retailers to keep it within my budget.

I'll also have a few emersed plants (Lillies, Papyrus) which will help cycle the tank and are probably going to be supplemented by the indirect sunlight from the window.