how do I determine how much CO2 I need and how much I'm putting in? - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-07-2014, 04:32 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
how do I determine how much CO2 I need and how much I'm putting in?

Hey guys,

I'm brand new to the CO2 stuff, and hopefully I'll have my system up and running soon...

Is there a thread or other website where I can calculate how much CO2 should be put into my tank?

and then, other than the bubble counter, is there some way to determine how much I am actually putting in?

Thanks much for your help!

Todd
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-07-2014, 06:29 AM
Algae Grower

i use a drop checker

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-07-2014, 06:56 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (7/100%)
I second that... use a drop checker.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-07-2014, 09:13 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (2/100%)
How big is your tank? Like they said you need a drop checker. Place it on the other side of your tank from where your co2 diffuser is located. It will take a few hours for the color to change but it should turn from blue to green. If it is green you have enough co2.
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-07-2014, 10:37 AM
OVT
Carpe Diem

PTrader: (144/100%)
IMHO, the drop checker is an evil fish-killing $10 gizmo. By the time it is the color you *think* it should be, your fish is long dead. Different species have different co2/o2 tolerance levels and no fish cares about your drop checker color.

Instead of relying on unreliable crutch do it the hard way: start low, increase slow, and watch your real limiting factor: your fish.

v3
iamaloner and iamaloner like this.

Courtesy * Integrity * Perseverance * Indominable Spirit * and Self Control
Tenets of TKD