fish id please - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-22-2004, 02:50 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
hey all,
my soon-to-be father in-law is an avid fish keeper and has some new fish that he forgot the name of. they are currently fairly small: 1-2 inches long each, but will get to be about 6 inches long. i think they look like fat gouramis with chipmunk cheeks. he says that eventually their scales will spell out words in chinese.
any ideas?

thanks
kris
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-22-2004, 11:46 AM
PT Biologist

PTrader: (4/100%)
Maybe he has the 'flower' cichlids that are all the rage in Asia at the moment. They are a hybrid of South American cichlids. Not something you are likely to encounter in nature. I looked at a website about them a while back. I can't remember the other name for these things. Anyone else?

Sean

Aquascape? I'm a crypt farmer.

It's a fine line between fishing and standing on the shore looking like an idiot.

That IS an aquascape, it's titled "The Vacant Lot".
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-22-2004, 12:13 PM

Yeap, they call it Lo-Han. I'm not sure the scientific name of it though.

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-22-2004, 10:17 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

yeppers. i found a forum and am currently stunned. they are posting pictures of fish that cost more than $300 as adults and can get bigger than 6 inches long.
i had no idea.
i was reading just a bit and they don't sound very hardy at all. they are pretty though.
thanks for the help!
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-23-2004, 02:58 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast