Are these plants totally dead? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-02-2014, 08:17 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Are these plants totally dead?

Hi all, I'm new both to plants and to the site Please help if you can! I apologize if this post is way too long. I think it's mostly the pictures.

Ok, so I ordered some plants online (only lfs around has a very small, snail-infested selection) and they didn't come for almost 2 months. I'm very new to plants and don't even know how to tell if any of them could possibly be saved.

Green cryptocoryne wendtii - That one actually looked ok. The base roots were firm and looked a healthy white color and had tiny green stems and leaves all over them, so I trimmed off the brown stuff and put that one in a tank. Not sure if it needs any special treatment to make sure it grows now.

Red tiger lotus - It arrived as a tiny bulb with no shoots or anything and was completely dry. I did some looking online and found that I should drop it in a container of tank water. If it floats (it does) then it's less likely to grow, but still might, so I should wait a few weeks. Or maybe I should give up? Or maybe there's something I can do to magically bring it back?

Christmas moss - I was pretty excited about this one, but it arrived totally dry and completely brown. There was also a twig and a dead leaf from a different kind of plant in with it. It's soft and doesn't smell bad- it smells earthy. I think there's a green tint to the brown on one or two tiny little leaves lol. You might not be able to see...or maybe I let wishful thinking get the best of me Sorry about the awful handwriting lol (because I know people love when you write on photos in the first place ) - The red * marks something I can't identify - another random twig or a root? It seems kind of intertwined, so I didn't want to pull on it.