New to planted tanks - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-30-2014, 05:27 PM Thread Starter
DOT

PTrader: (0/0%)
New to planted tanks

Hello all, I am new to the hobby. Just a little background, I have been keeping large mixed reef tanks for about 20 years and decided that it was time to learn the art of planted tanks. I thought that if I could tackle mixed reef tanks for so many years, planted tanks would be a snap.....yeah right! I have found this to be as challenging if not more than salt water and look forward to learning.

I have had a 55 gallon planted tank set up for about 6 months now. The first 3 months using a diy c02 setup that worked very well. My plant growth exploded, although I had very easy stuff in there to help me learn the basics. In the last 3 months I have switched to a pressurized co2 tank and a diy reactor, basically a clean up tube that has a power head running through it that fills with gas. That has been working very well until the last 4 weeks or so. Now I am starting to see stunted growth and yellowing of leaves.

My current light is a current 2x54 t5 ho with Giesmann 6500k bulbs. I have not really checked any parameters (i know, i know) because everything was healthy and thriving.

I can only assume that there is a nutrient deficiency because I have never dosed anything or added any ferts...

I have read a lot of articles on here about and thought I would ask before I started trying to do anything.

Is there a good starting point anyone could suggest with the limited amount of info I have listed? Any and all suggestions are greatly appreciated and thank you for such a great site....a person could go crazy trying to absorb all the info on here...lol
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-30-2014, 05:34 PM
Algae Grower

Test your water first, I bet your nitrates bottomed out. If those are okay then we'll go from there